Tracking down unexplained data usage

Started by palandiriel

palandiriel

Tracking down unexplained data usage   06 April 2019, 14:46

I have recently installed NetWorx on my computer to try and identify unexplained data usage, which is being reported by my ISP. Unfortunately I am not technically savvy enough to understand the various settings in NetWorx.

I am running Windows 7 64. I have a Fritzbox 7272 router. My desktop computer is connected to the router by ethernet cable, and my Western Digital media player is connected to the router via wifi. I stream movies from my computer hard drive to my WDTV media player, but the media player does not play any media from the internet. So, at least as far as I can understand it, my media player should not be using any data measurable by my ISP, other than checking for software updates etc. It should not be using the 100 MB per hour which my ISP is reporting, which I cannot explain.

Could someone please tell me if the setting "Monitor my router rather than this computer", will measure the local network data that streams from my desktop to my media player, via my wifi connection? (i.e. the data that should not be included by my ISP).

If use the setting "Ignore local traffic within the LAN", presumably this will only measure data coming to and from my desktop via the internet, and not pick up any unexplained internet traffic which my media player might be causing. Is that correct?

If the above is the case, is there any way to measure the data traffic between my WDTV media player and the internet, given that it is not possible to install any software on it directly?