MAC address column is empty

Started by Phil W

Phil W

MAC address column is empty   10 June 2023, 20:24

I'm a relative Newbie, having just purchased a license and installed the newest version of SoftPerfect Network Scanner (8.1.7 64bit). I've used the 'Trial Version' for a time and was impressed. Prior version (8.1.2) Windows 11, recommended resolution AMD Radeon MS Drivers.

An odd issue:

1) The MAC Address column remains empty despite reboots/rescanning. This was not an issue in the previous version. I've tried changing setting related to MAC address e.g. 'Resolve' with no effect. Loading a previous config file made no difference.

2) Change between Default and Dark mode makes no difference? Not a graphics driver issue?

3) The MAC Address is also not seen in properties, suggesting it is not a graphic issue. Oddly though the Friendly names (which depend on MAC and Host Name) are listed.

I can see the MAC address on the Routers List (StarLink V2) connected to a Ubiquiti network with Ubiquity Cloud Key.

What can I do to resolve this as the issue severely compromises my use of the software?
SoftPerfect Support forum - Andrew avatar image

Re: MAC address column is empty   12 June 2023, 09:52

Thank you for your detailed message and for your recent purchase of the SoftPerfect Network Scanner license. We appreciate your support and we are here to assist with your query.

Based on the information you provided, the missing MAC addresses are likely due to the fact that you are scanning a different subnet. Prior to version 8.1.5, scanning outside your subnet might have seemed to work, but the results might have been incorrect due to certain technical limitations.

To rectify this, please enable Allow ARP outside current subnet on the General tab in Options. Enabling this setting should help with MAC address resolution:

SoftPerfect support forum