RAM Disks performance tests for a home developped soft

Started by infopat

Hi,

I am a software Engineer and I am required to test our home developed software in a new virtual data center. We want to rehost the software into a Virtual Machine on Windows 2008 Server Entreprise R2 x64 based on a VM Ware ESX. Unfortunately, we are experiencing some big performance issues.

Our software is doing a lot of disk access (read/write) and that's why we are testing your RAM Disk software. We can allocate a lot of RAM to this VM so we allocated 26 GB and tested a 20 GB RAM Disk so that the system has at least 6 GB. We have tested a lot of configuration using your software but it doesn't improve the performance. We also checked some key performance indicators (CPU, RAM swap, I/O Disks, I/O Network, using the windows 2008 performance monitor) but nothing seems to be weird.

That's why we have some questions :
- Is SoftPerfect RAM Disk compatible with WM Ware ? ESX ?
- Are there some known issues with the OS we are using or the Virtualization ?
- Is mounting a 'RAM Disk attached to an SVI Image already created' less efficient than a 'simple mounted RAM Disk' ?
- Is the "save contents to Image" option makes the RAM Disk less efficient ?
- Is the "Mount as Removable" option makes the RAM Disk more efficient ?

At least have you some advices or "best practices" in using your software ?

If it works we'll certainly purchase more than 20 commercial use licenses.

Regards,

Patrick Ladouceur
Sofrecom - Part of the Orange Group
Paris, France
SoftPerfect Support forum - Andrew avatar image

Re: RAM Disks performance tests for a home developped soft   20 March 2014, 23:44

Hi Patrick,

It's barely technically possible that a conventional hard disk drive and a RAM disk have the same performance. When you create a RAM disk, make sure you create an actual RAM disk, and not an image file associated with a drive letter. The latter will not show any performance improvements.