Creating a RAM Disk for Firefox and Chrome profile folders

Started by jose hidalgo

Creating a RAM Disk for Firefox and Chrome profile folders   24 December 2015, 23:50

Hi everybody,

I'd like to create a RAM Disk of about 500 MB, and copy my Firefox and Chrome profile folders (located in my bootable SSD) with a batch script run at every Windows startup, in order to speed up navigation. However this is not easy:

1. I need to make a PERFECT COPY of my profile folders (all the files, folders and subfolders, but also all file attributes, permissions, R/W, hidden files, system files, etc.).
What would be the right batch command with all the right flags? I have looked into XCOPY and ROBOCOPY, but I'm not an expert : which one is really able to make a PERFECT COPY of a folder and its subfolders and files (even hidden ones, etc.), using the right flags? Or is there a better solution?
FYI I have come up with this command line: XCOPY C:\Users\Jose\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\kz5u35az.default\ S:\Firefox\Profiles\kz5u35az.default\ /I /E /K /Q /H /X
But I don't know if it will make a perfect copy or if I can do better. I'm no expert at this, I don't even know the difference between XCOPY and ROBOCOPY, so... sad

2. Let's call Folder 1 the original profile folder in my SSD, and Folder 2 the perfect copy on the RAM Disk. Folder 2 would need to be periodically saved to my SSD (every 5 min or so), so any changes made during my navigation (new tabs, new extensions, new bookmarks...) could be remembered. Is that the right strategy? How would you proceed? Wouldn't it be bad for the SSD to save hundreds of MB so frequently? Unless RAM Disk handles incremental backups of course. How does it work exactly?

3. How could I prevent the risk of file corruption in my RAM Drive? I can't afford the RAM Drive to corrupt my data in Folder 2 AND at the next backup (5 min max) to save the corrupted data into Folder 1. Again, how would you proceed?

Thanks in advance for your help.