Suggestion: Database treatment upon uninstallation

Started by Hudson-N1

Hudson-N1

Suggestion: Database treatment upon uninstallation   30 July 2019, 14:16

I think that not deleting user data upon uninstallation is a common practice these days, but today I was caught by surprise by networx's behaviour. I was about to change Networx's filter driver implementation, thought that maybe I should completely uninstall and reinstall the software. Turns out that the database (\ProgramData\Softperfect\Networx\*) was completely erased during uninstallation, as well as previous settings. I think it would be a good idea to give user choices during uninstallation about whether to preserve the database (it can grow quite large) or notify users about undeleted database and preferences.
SoftPerfect Support forum - Andrew avatar image

Re: Suggestion: Database treatment upon uninstallation   30 July 2019, 16:08

Good point, we will add a prompt like this in the next release. It will pop up at the end of uninstallation:

SoftPerfect support forum
Thanks, my database did not die in vain wink smile

Reply to this topic

Sometimes you can find a solution faster if you try the forum search, have a look at the knowledge base, or check the software user manual to see if your question has already been answered.

Our forum rules are simple:

  • Be polite.
  • Do not spam.
  • Write in English. If possible, check your spelling and grammar.

Author:

Email:

Subject

A brief and informative title for your message, approximately 4–8 words:

     

Spam prevention: please enter the following code in the input field below.

 **    **  ********   ********   ********   ********  
  **  **   **     **  **     **  **     **  **     ** 
   ****    **     **  **     **  **     **  **     ** 
    **     ********   **     **  ********   ********  
    **     **         **     **  **         **     ** 
    **     **         **     **  **         **     ** 
    **     **         ********   **         ********  

Message: