NetWorx database and settings erased during uninstallation

3 posts · Closed

Hudson-N1 Guest
30 Jul 2019

I think that not deleting user data upon uninstallation is a common practice these days, but today I was caught by surprise by NetWorx's behaviour. I was about to change NetWorx's filter driver implementation, thought that maybe I should completely uninstall and reinstall the software. Turns out that the database (\ProgramData\Softperfect\Networx*) was completely erased during uninstallation, as well as previous settings. I think it would be a good idea to give user choices during uninstallation about whether to preserve the database (it can grow quite large) or notify users about undeleted database and preferences.

Andrew SoftPerfect
30 Jul 2019

Good point, we will add a prompt like this in the next release. It will pop up at the end of uninstallation:

Hudson-N1 Guest
30 Jul 2019

Thanks, my database did not die in vain ;-) :-)

This topic is closed. It has had no new posts for over a year, so the software versions it talks about may be out of date. Start a new topic in NetWorx if you have a similar question.