Scan results show no open ports

Started by tgh-adfabre

Scan results show no open ports   10 December 2016, 02:46

I am a CIS student writing a final paper. This is the first time I have attempted anything like this. I scanned my home Wi-Fi with the demo Network Scanner. The results came back with my devices (I corroborated the results with my routers connected devices tool), MAC addresses, IP Addresses and IPv6 addresses. The results came back with no open ports, this is not surprising. I have no gaming needs or any devices that need an assigned port.

In the interest of doing a thorough paper I decide to intentionally open a port and attach it to my computer. If I leave it open long enough to scan for it, screen capture the results and close it I am good to go.
Problem:
I have opened 2 FTP ports and associated them to my PC in my routers Firewall settings. I then scanned with Network Scanner and I am not picking up open ports.
I have confirmed in Network Scanner->Options->Program Options->Ports Tab:
I have the ports I opened selected to scan with about 10 others. I also selected 6 UDP port options on the lower half of the tab.

In my firewall settings I have turned off Port Scan Protection, I honestly do not think it will help but I am grasping at straws.
My first assumption is user error.

I am hoping someone here can point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
TGH
SoftPerfect Support forum - Andrew avatar image

Re: Scan results show no open ports   10 December 2016, 08:52

It would help if you provided some screenshots of the Ports tab as well as the scan result (e.g. you could have entered the port numbers incorrectly).

If I attempt to scan the office LAN for all ports 1-65535, the app produces something like this:

SoftPerfect support forum

Re: Scan results show no open ports   10 December 2016, 09:38

Thank you for your response.
1) The port range is from my router.
2) The devices found match the devices shown in by my router.