Meaning of value 0 in Keep per site/application records

2 posts · Closed

Eco-Drive Guest
27 Feb 2020

Hello NetWorx developers,

Firstly, thank you for consistently working on this fantastic product.

According to this post, the current version of NetWorx has a feature of automatically purging old app/site stats from the DB and compressing it. I also noticed there is a new hidden option named "Keep per site/application records for (days)".

After upgrading from an older version, this new option has value 0 and is being displayed in bold font, which indicates it has been altered from its default value.

I wonder what value '0' means for this setting? Does it mean "keep forever"? If this is the case, I think it will explain why user Alex in that post did not experience any effect of this new feature. For anyone upgrading from an old version, this feature might need to be manually configured in hidden options.

Also, the manual might need an update to document the new feature.

Thanks!

Andrew SoftPerfect
27 Feb 2020

The default value in new installations is 90 days. This will ensure the database stays relatively compact.

However in upgraded installations the default value is 0, meaning the records are kept indefinitely. There are two reasons for that:

  • To avoid surprising the users of older versions with a sudden disappearance of their old detailed records.
  • Deleting millions of records may take a while and may seem like the app has frozen.

So we decided not to do anything with the old data in existing installations, while in new installations only 3 months worth of details will be kept.

We updated the documentation, thank you for pointing that out!

This topic is closed. It has had no new posts for over a year, so the software versions it talks about may be out of date. Start a new topic in NetWorx if you have a similar question.